Copyright  ©  Sourcebooks 2017

Barnes & Noble

Preorder Now!

Discussion GuideBook Club Event GuideFacebook ImageTwitter ImageHorizontal BannerVertical BannerShelf Talker

Downloadable Resources

BAM!AmazonIndieBound
Poster

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That’s long enough to know she never should have hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby.

Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, a ticket out of town is hard to come by, and hope often gets stomped out.  When a stranger sweeps into Baines Creek and knocks things off-kilter, Sadie finds herself with an unexpected lifeline…if she can just figure out how to use it.

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, If the Creek Don’t Rise is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.


Praise for If the Creek Don’t Rise

★ “Writing with a deep knowledge of the enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows.”
Library Journal Starred Review

“This one nearly broke my heart… An impressive debut 

from a talent to watch.”
—Kathleen Grissom, author of the New York Times bestsellers
The Kitchen House and Glory Over Everything

“Leah Weiss pulls on your heartstrings with characters that are unforgettable… You’ll love the sweet and sassy, root against the nastiness, and cheer on those open to change.”
—Lori Fazio, RJ Julia Booksellers (Madison, CT)


The Appalachian voice is very much alive in this debut novel.”
—Stephanie Crowe, Page & Palette (Fairhope, AL)


This story of pluck and courage will energize
 that 
acquiescent core in many of us.
—Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault (Oskaloosa, IA)

“This is for fans of Ron Rash, Wiley Cash, or Nick Butler. Simply fabulous writing topped by breathtaking characters.”
—Jessilynn Norcross, McLean & Eakin (Petoskey, MI)

“A heartfelt story with characters that you will fall in love with.”
—Sara Harjo, Best of Books (Edmond, OK)


“Birdie, Kate, and Sadie Blue are the crone, matron, and maiden 
of a new, diverse era.”
—Kit Little, Towne Book Center & Cafe (Collegeville, PA)

He’s gonna be sorry he ever messed
with me and Loretta Lynn

View the Author's Tour Schedule

Congratulations to the sweepstakes winners!  

We have one more giveaway! 
Post this image on social media with #ifthecreek and be entered 
to win a set of books for every member of your book club!